Travel - Friends - Dating -- JoinMate.com!

Translate to English Translate to German Translate to Spanish Translate to French Translate to Russian Translate to Dutch Translate to Italian Translate to Portuguese Translate to Japanese Translate to Korean Translate to Chinese Translate to Greek

I received an offer of employment from Western Geco Ltd. How can I know if this is a scam or not?


Public Comments

1. Did you apply or interview for the job? If not, then it probably is a scam. Nobody hires you without an interview unless you applied through a temporary service. Could they have had the wrong phone number maybe?

2. don't you mean WesternGeco Ltd? My mum works there so its a real company

3. This question pops up now and again on here- it's just another phishing scam, I'm afraid. Don't give them any personal information.

As ghostgirl says, Western Geco is a real company- but it is not they who have contacted you. (The yahoo.com email adress rather than the company name.com is a giveaway.)

4. The general rule of thumb with things like this, is that if you even need to ask if it could be a hoax - Its a Hoax! :-)

Follow that rule and you won't get caught out!

5. well did you apply to them for a job?
if not then it's likely to be some sort of scam - like someone said if you need to ask then it probably is!
why not find a number for the company from 192.com/yell.com etc and speak to someone there about it just to set your mind at rest.

6. I have had a quick look on the internet an found some interesting reading. From what I can find it does look like a scam. They say that they are offering you employment but to process your "documents" and legal immigration paperwork etc then they will require a fee of something like £900. It also seems that alot of the email address used are fakes. Have a look at some of the comments on the website links below. Alternatively type "Western Geco Ltd" into google and you will see for yourself. Good luck but I would be very cautious.

7. Easy :-
1) Did you apply for a Job with them ?
No = it's a scam
2) Could they have your contact details from a legitimate source (i.e. did you give them out to an Agency etc ?)
No = it's a scam
3) Is the 'Reply to' address @ the Company ?
(ie. "name@WesternGeco.co.uk (or @WesternGeco.com) ?
No = it's a scam ..
4) Did they ask for your CV ?
No = it's a scam
5) Have you attended an INTERVIEW with them ?
No = it's a scam

No sane Company offers Jobs to random people based on their email address - if they never even saw your CV and you never went for interview it's an obvious SCAM.

Sorry